Employment & Assistance Appeal Tribunal of BC

Who We Are

The Tribunal office is located in Victoria, BC; it consists of a Tribunal Chair and Vice Chair, staff and members located throughout the province. The Tribunal is independent from the ministry. The Tribunal Chair reports to the Minister, Social Development and Poverty Reduction

Emily C. Drown

Chair, Employment and Assistance Appeal Tribunal

Emily Drown obtained her Bachelor of Arts from Malaspina University-College (now Vancouver Island University) in 2000 and her Bachelor of Laws from the University of Victoria in 2004. Emily was appointed Chair of the Safety Standards Appeal Board on January 1, 2014 after serving as Vice-Chair from May 2008 until her appointment as Chair. In addition to her duties with the Safety Standards Appeal Board, Emily has maintained a professional law practice in Victoria, BC with a focus on civil litigation and family law since being called to the Bar of British Columbia in 2005. Emily has served numerous times as a guest judge for the Law Society of British Columbia's Professional Legal Training Course and has taught Contract Law and Dispute Resolution for Construction Specifications Canada. Emily is presently President of the British Columbia Counsel of Administrative Tribunals and a director of the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals. 

Jane Nielsen

Vice Chair

Jane Nielsen is a panel member and acting Tribunal Chair with the Employment and Assistance Appeal Tribunal. Previously, she was a contractor with the Ministry of Labour and Citizens' Services, Corporate Accounting Services. In the community, she is a Director of the Oak Bay Heritage Foundation and as a former volunteer at the Ronald McDonald House and Success By 6. Ms. Nielsen holds her Bachelor of Arts and her Bachelor of Laws from the University of British Columbia.


For a complete list of members click here.

Member Remuneration

Section 4.3(b) of the Treasury Board Directive 1/17 requires that remuneration paid to appointees is available on the Tribunal's website by June 30 each year. Click here  for the Tribunal Appointee Remuneration for 2017.